加快数据洞察的速度

无国界艺术家:创意合作

跳探戈需要两个人,那创作一首歌需要几个人?如今,快速可靠的技术可以将创意人士聚集到云端,合作写出美妙的音乐或者做其他更多的事情。作家路易莎·梅·奥尔科特 (Louisa May Alcott) 曾说过,“生火要靠两块燧石”,用“生火”暗指创意的火花。如今,得益于云技术和功能愈发强大的计算机,在线合作成为新的创作形式,凝聚全世界的艺术灵感,带来多元视角、多元文化的表达形式。

通过各种云平台,画家、音乐家、作家、甚至演员和舞蹈家可以不分国界地聚集在一起,集思广益,发表见解,对作品进行增减、建构和解构。此类合作都是为了创作出新的作品,如画作、歌剧、诗歌、戏剧、动画、电影、歌曲等。创作天才独自埋头苦干的日子已经过去,新的时代即将到来——在这个新时代,无国界艺术家可以合作进行“分散式创作”。

打破常规

云合作的到来令人振奋,是因为它预示着大量打破常规的出色创作即将涌现。由于有了云技术,人们无需出行就可以随时随地分享和改进自己的创意和见解,无论他们的年龄、国籍、文化和才华如何——这在人类历史上尚属首次。

当然,在云技术出现之前,人们就已经开始尝试远程合作,但物流速度是一个巨大挑战。Cassandra Project 是第一批使用互联网进行的创意合作的项目之一。来自纽约、加拿大和罗马尼亚的舞蹈家、音乐家、教育家和技术专家使用 CU-SeeMe 软件服务器向全世界的观众呈现现场表演。

孤立埋头苦干的创造性天才的日子已经一去不复返,一个新的时代正在到来。在这个时代,无国界艺术家在“分布式创意制作”中进行合作。

从 1996 年到 2000 年,该项目利用数字技术远程直播了许多舞蹈家和音乐家的表演。编舞者可以远程指导表演者,就像交响乐团的指挥一样。然而,当时的连接速度很慢(Wi-Fi 于 1997 年正式推出时,起初的速度是每秒 2 Mb 数据),而且必须频繁地重新加载图像,导致参与者和观众无法观看到流畅的、持续的表演。现代网络连接和云技术将会大大改善这种体验。事实上,云技术的广泛采用(始于 2008 年左右)催生了大量真正的远程艺术合作:

  • 备受认可的 Post Natyam Collective 聚集了来自美国、德国和印度的艺术家,他们在云端合作,共同创作并呈现舞蹈、视频及其他艺术表演。这个团体已有 14 年历史,他们的宣言中就提到了致力于“在线集体创作过程,每个人都可以在这个过程中创作个人作品”。
  • Interactive Diaries源自歌德学院主办的文化创新者论坛 (Cultural Innovators’ Forum),实时呈现世界各地的艺术家以互动方式创作的音乐/声音、照片和画作。“我们通过技术和艺术鼓励来自不同地域、不同文化的人进行交流。”该项目的网站上解释说,“图画、照片和声音艺术取代了文字,它们是通用的语言,可帮助消除误解和刻板印象。”
  • 歌剧世界也在采取行动。歌剧 Pancho Villa from a Safe Distance 利用包括视频会议在内的云和网络技术,使身在墨西哥城和德克萨斯州奥斯汀的创作者可以进行跨国界合作。
  • 《守坝员》(The Dam Keeper) 是一部获得奥斯卡提名的动画短片,为了制作这部电影,75 位身处不同地区的动画师、画家、音乐家、制作人员、雕刻家和剪辑师使用在线文件共享网站进行实时合作。
  • 《A Tale of Two Tricksters》中,阿拉斯加原住民文化中心 (Alaska Native Heritage Center) 和纽约的 Pregones/Puerto Rican 旅游剧院通过云合作,融合了两种文化对神话中的“魔术师”的演绎。表演者同时向阿拉斯加和纽约的观众呈现表演,通过云进行实时互动,并通过流媒体进行直播。

“携手合作”:好处

为什么要合作?美国的国家特质在一定程度上受到拉尔夫·沃尔多·爱默生 (Ralph Waldo Emerson) 的散文《自立》(Self-Reliance) 的影响,虽然其中原因可能并不明显。但是,创作界的许多人士都推崇甚至依赖于合作,因为合作有以下好处:

  • 提升创造力。它“头脑风暴”这种说法是有所依据的。反复斟酌想法可刺激大脑内的神经递质,从而带来更多灵感。如果可以与别人探讨想法,而对方又可以提供启发性的意见,那么就更容易打破常规思维。如果可以与一群人(尤其是一群有着不同背景的人)进行头脑风暴,那就更好了。
  • 建立友谊。网络世界有大量的机会可以让你认识其他有趣的、才华横溢的创意人士并与他们合作,你还可以通过越来越多的网站和应用程序向别人介绍你自己。
  • 促进成长。 与别人合作意味着针对要尝试的新方法获取和提供建议;意味着对正在创作的作品听取或发表评论。Scratch 是麻省理工学院开发的一个网站,在该网站上,年轻人可以使用数字“编程块”创作互动故事、游戏和艺术作品。该网站于 2007 年推出,至今已诞生了 100 多万个创意项目。
  • 扩大影响力。与别人合作意味着有机会接触他们的受众,而别人也有机会接触你的受众。通过合作,艺术可以更好地改变人们的生活,而改变人们的生活正是艺术家进行创作的主要原因。

面对面的合作固然有其优势,但日趋移动化的文化使得艺术家既可以有独处的时间进行创作,又可以获得与别人合作的种种好处。对于创意人士来说,云已成为众所周知的“第三空间”;这是一个介于家庭生活和职场生活之间的地方,画家、音乐家、作家和表演者可以聚集在这里进行交流分享,免去了出行造成的费用和不便。

事实上,有人认为在线合作的效果甚至比一对一会面更好,原因如下:

  • 主导型人格无“用武之地”。研究显示,虚拟头脑风暴之所以会产生更好的点子,不仅因为云可以将世界各地持有不同观点的人聚集在一起,还因为个别参与者很难主导在线讨论。听取形形色色的人提出的不同想法,才是头脑风暴的真正意义所在,不是吗?
  • 鼓励内向型人格大胆发言。在线合作可以匿名进行,这意味着,较之于面对面会谈,内向的人在参加在线讨论时可能更愿意发言。
  • 云全天候开放。合作者无需为了查看某个文件或听某段剪辑而熬到半夜或早早起床——当然,如果他们想要这样做,也是可以的。无论你在哪个时区,云始终对你开放,你可以在休息或者方便的时候随时访问。

适逢其时的技术

在几年前用过视频会议的人都可以证明,与其他人(即使对方只有一个人)在线合作并非总是易事。在云技术出现之前,我们依赖于家里和办公室的硬件来收发视频和音频数据。然而,服务器需要大量内存来保持信息流动。那时候,如果没有强大的硬件,网络连接会变慢或完全中断。远程聊天和演示几乎总是由于网络连接问题而受到阻碍,参与者不断受挫,思想交流也随之中断。

尽管面临种种挑战,即使在 2008 年金融危机影响了业务预算的时期,企业界也从未忽略远程合作的优势。事实上,几乎可以肯定的是,资金紧缩是企业将其数据迁移到云端的主要原因之一。正如 Micron 美光高级客户项目经理 Gregg Wolff 所说,企业能够以更低成本利用云服务器提供的大量内存,而且无需雇用 IT 人员来维持本地硬件运行。

虽然面对面合作很好,但我们日益移动的文化让艺术家们既可以独处,同时也能从与他人的合作中获益。

注意到这种趋势后,云服务提供商相应地提升了自身的数据存储和处理能力。这种趋势很快惠及其他领域,包括创意领域。如今,从社交媒体到生产力应用程序都采用了云技术,无论有多少人参与,无论参与者身在何处,这些平台都能够提供无缝的流媒体体验。音乐家可以聆听合作曲目,对曲目发表评论,为曲目添加(或删除)乐谱;画家可以在共享的数字画布上实时作画;观众可以与电视连续剧互动,从而影响剧情的走向,等等。

高带宽 5G 网络的到来必定会进一步推动远程合作,在信息高速公路上增加更多通道,从而消除数据瓶颈和连接中断问题,并为虚拟现实、全息成像和人工智能等新兴技术铺平道路。我们很快就会忘记我们的创意合作伙伴并非与我们同处一室,因为从某种意义上说,他们就在我们身边。

内存:不可或缺的组成部分

为了使大量数据保持流动以进行创意合作,负责连接的云服务器和网络需要内存的支持。如今的云服务可提供无限量的内存,以满足人们对视频、音频和流媒体直播内容似乎永无止境的需求。随着包括人工智能和虚拟现实在内的新兴技术的日益普及,无论在云端还是在“边缘”(即我们的设备或数据中心),人们对内存的需求只会有增无减。

沉浸式技术可提供高质量的用户体验,这些技术将会使用云和边缘计算实时处理大量数据。对更大容量、更快速、更强大内存的需求不会消失,而且几乎可以肯定的是,这种需求在未来几年内会加速增长。

长期以来,Micron 美光在内存技术领域都处于前沿地位,时至今日,我们仍牢牢把握这个位置,因为我们拥有强大、快速的 DRAM 内存芯片以及高密度 NAND 闪存。我们的 3D XPoint™内存技术速度快于 NAND,密度高于 DRAM,可在云端和边缘快速移动大量数据。

随着技术的不断产生和改进——从全息成像到某一天可能实现的“量子传送”能力——人类将持续期待更好、更快、更现实的聚集和交流方式。

很快,我们就会忘记我们的创意伙伴和我们不在一个房间里——因为,从某种意义上说,他们就在我们身边。

其中的好处不仅惠及商界,甚至超越了艺术本身。参与Big History Project的学者表示,与任何其他因素相比,“集体学习”更有力地推动了人类进化成为超越地球上任何其他生物的高智慧物种。云技术以前所未有的速度推动着大规模的集体学习和创新。

尽管内存技术至关重要,这个领域所面临的挑战却大到令人难以置信。一些公司可能会被市场对数字内存的巨大需求吓到。而 Micron 美光则勇敢接受挑战,因为我们是少有的能够生产大容量 DRAM、快速 NAND 和非凡 3D XPoint 内存的制造商。我们的解决方案可以实现对数据银河的高速处理,而且随着时间推移,我们的解决方案将会变得更高密度、更快速、更高效。

未来还会发生什么?为被迫分开的朋友们创建虚拟现实环境?制作一部电影,让世界上的每个人都可以在里面当 15 秒明星?与外星人或者能歌善舞的机器人合作,创作一部音乐剧?要实现上述以及其他远程艺术项目,必须实现许多先决条件,包括在新型内存架构的帮助下,更快速地从日益庞大的存储数据库提取数据。Micron 美光已做好打头阵的准备,立志从内存着手,成为互联时代创意合作的核心技术力量。

+

Accelerating the speed of data insights

Artists Without Borders: Creative Collaboration

RATE THIS STORY:
Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable
VOTES SO FAR

“It takes two flints to make a fire,” author Louisa May Alcott said, alluding to the creative spark. Today, thanks to cloud technology and increasingly powerful computers, online collaboration is the new creativity hack, bringing together artistic minds from around the world to generate multiperspective, multicultural forms of expression.

Using a myriad of platforms in the cloud, artists, musicians, writers, and even actors and dancers are coming together — not only across borders but regardless of them — to brainstorm, critique, augment, reduce, construct and deconstruct. This collaboration is all in the name of producing completely new works: paintings, operas, poems, plays, animation, films, songs and more. The day of the creative genius toiling away in isolation is dead, and a new one is dawning, a day of artists without borders working together in “distributed creative production.”

Breaking the Mold

Cloud collaboration is exciting because it portends a virtual explosion of mold-breaking, mind-blowing creative work. For the first time in human history, people of all ages, nationalities, cultures and talents are able, thanks to cloud technologies, to meld and refine their ideas and insights any time they want, without needing to travel anywhere.

Of course, people worked together long-distance before the cloud rolled in — but the logistics were quite challenging. One of the first creative collaborative projects to use the internet was the Cassandra Project. A consortium of dancers, musicians, educators and technology specialists in New York, Canada and Romania used a software server called CU-SeeMe to develop live performances for audiences around the world.

The day of the creative genius toiling away in isolation is dead, and a new one is dawning, a day of artists without borders working together in “distributed creative production.”

From 1996 to 2000, the project used digital technologies to livestream dancers and musicians across the miles. A choreographer directed the performers from afar, much as a conductor might do with an orchestra. But connections were slow (2 Mb of data per second was the initial speed when Wi-Fi first became commercially available in 1997) and images had to be reloaded frequently, interrupting the performances for participants and audience members. Modern network connections and the cloud would have vastly improved those experiences. In fact, the cloud’s widespread adoption, beginning around 2008, stimulated a veritable avalanche of remote artistic collaborations:

  • The award-winning Post Natyam Collective comprises members from the U.S., Germany and India working in the cloud to create and present dance, video and other artistic performances. The 14-year-old group’s manifesto includes a commitment to “an online collective process from which we each craft individual products.”
  • The Interactive Diaries, which sprang from the Goethe Institute-sponsored Cultural Innovators’ Forum, present music/sound, photography and drawings created interactively, in real time, by artists around the world. “Technology and art are used to encourage people who are geographically and culturally distant to communicate,” the project’s website explains. “Illustration, photography, and sound art replace the words and — through their universal language — help break down walls of misunderstanding and stereotypes.”
  • Even the world of opera is getting into the act. “Pancho Villa from a Safe Distance” used cloud and network technologies including video conferencing to enable its creators, based in Mexico City and Austin, TX, to collaborate across borders.
  • To make the Oscar-nominated film, “The Dam Keeper,” 75 animators, painters, musicians, production staff, sculptor and editor, all in different locales, collaborated in real time using an online file-sharing site.
  • A Tale of Two Tricksters” paired the Alaskan Native Heritage Center and the Pregones/Puerto Rican Traveling Theater in New York in a cloud collaboration that blended the two cultures’ interpretations of the mythological “trickster.” Performers presented the show in Alaska and New York simultaneously while interacting with each other via the cloud in real time and livestreaming the event.

“Come Together”: The Benefits

Why collaborate? In the U.S., a nation shaped in part by Ralph Waldo Emerson’s famous essay, “Self-Reliance,” the reasons may not be readily apparent. Many in the creative community swear by collaboration, however, and even rely on it for the following benefits:

  • Creativity. There’s a reason why it’s called “brainstorm.” The back and forth of ideas stimulates the neurotransmitters in our brains, which brings more ideas. Thinking outside the proverbial box is easier when we have someone to bounce ideas off of, someone who can stimulate our thinking with ideas of their own. If we’re brainstorming with a group, it gets even better — especially if it’s a diverse group.
  • Companionship. One is a lonely number. Opportunities to meet and work with other interesting, talented and creative people abound online, with an increasing number of websites and apps waiting to introduce you.
  • Growth. Working with others means getting and giving advice on new approaches to try; it means getting and giving critiques of works in progress. Scratch, developed by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, brings young people together to create interactive stories, games and art simulations using digital “programming blocks.” Launched in 2007, the site has produced more than 1 million creative projects.
  • Reach. Working with others means gaining access to their audiences, and they to yours. Collaboration can expand art’s ability to make a difference in people’s lives, which is the primary reason artists create.

While face-to-face collaborations can be nice, our increasingly mobile culture allows artists to sequester themselves for alone time while also reaping the benefits of working with others. The cloud becomes, for creatives, the proverbial “third space,” that place between domestic life and professional life where artists, musicians, writers and performers can gather and share without the expense or inconvenience of traveling.

In fact, some argue that online collaborations work even better than one-on-one meetings for several reasons:

  • Dominant personalities tone down. Studies show that virtual brainstorming produces better ideas, not only because the cloud can bring together people with varying points of view from all over the world, but also because it’s much more difficult for anyone to dominate the discussion online. Hearing lots of ideas from many different people is the whole point of brainstorming, isn’t it?
  • Reluctant personalities speak up. The relative anonymity an online experience offers means that shy people may be more likely to speak up than if they were in an in-person meeting.
  • The cloud is open 24/7. Collaborators don’t need to get up at 2 a.m. or even at 6 to view a document or hear a clip — but they can if they want to. No matter what time zone you’re in, the cloud is always open, and you can drop in and out at your leisure and convenience.

A Technology for Its Time

As anyone who tried videoconferencing a few years ago can attest, working with even one other person online hasn’t always been easy. Before the cloud, we relied on hardware in our homes and offices to send and receive video and audio data. But servers need huge amounts of memory to keep information flowing. Without robust hardware, network connections in those days would stall or drop altogether. Distance chats and presentations were almost always marred by these lulls, causing frustration and interrupting the exchange of ideas.

Despite the challenges, the corporate world never lost sight of the advantages of long-distance collaboration, even as the financial crisis of 2008 hamstrung business budgets. In fact, tighter funds are almost certainly one major reason why organizations moved their data to the cloud. According to Gregg Wolff, Micron senior customer program manager, they could use the vast memory that cloud servers offer at a lower cost and avoid having to pay IT personnel to keep on-premises hardware running.

While face-to-face collaborations can be nice, our increasingly mobile culture allows artists to sequester themselves for alone time while also reaping the benefits of working with others.

Taking note of the trend, cloud providers improved their data storage and processing abilities. Soon the benefits trickled down to the rest of us, including those in the creative sector. Now, platforms from social media to productivity apps employ cloud technology, providing a seamless streaming experience no matter how many people tune in or where they are located. Musicians can listen, critique and add (or remove) instrumentation in collaborative tracks; artists can draw and paint on shared digital canvases in real time; audiences can interact with TV series to affect the storyline, and more.

The advent of high-bandwidth 5G networks promises to enhance the collaborative process even more, adding lanes on the information highway to end data bottlenecks and choppy connections, and paving the way for emerging technologies such as virtual reality, holograms and artificial intelligence. Soon, we’ll forget that our creative partners aren’t in the same room with us — because, in a sense, they will be.

Memory: The Essential Ingredient

To keep vast quantities of data flowing for creative collaborations, cloud servers and the networks that connect them need memory. Today’s cloud services offer virtually infinite amounts of it to satisfy our seemingly endless appetite for video, audio and livestreaming. The need for memory is only going to grow, both in the cloud and on the “edge,” meaning on our devices or in data centers, as up-and-coming technologies including artificial intelligence and virtual reality become more prevalent.

For immersive technologies to provide quality user experiences, they will use the cloud and the edge to process massive quantities of data in real time. The need for bigger, faster, more powerful memory is not going to go away, and it will almost certainly accelerate in the coming years.

Micron has long been at the forefront of memory technology, and we hold that place today with our powerful, fast DRAM memory chips and our high-density NAND flash memory. And our 3D XPointTM memory technology—faster than NAND and higher-density than DRAM—moves large quantities of data quickly, in the cloud and on the edge.

As technologies improve and emerge—from holograms to, perhaps someday, “beam me up” capabilities — humans will continue to expect better, faster and more realistic ways to converge and commune with one another.

Soon, we’ll forget that our creative partners aren’t in the same room with us — because, in a sense, they will be.

The benefits extend beyond business, and even beyond art itself. Scholars in the Big History Project say that, more than any other factor, “collective learning” propelled human evolution to surpass that of any other creature on Earth. The cloud enables collective learning and innovation on a scale and at a pace never before experienced.

Despite its importance, the challenges facing memory technology boggle the mind. Some other company might be daunted by the collective, rapacious hunger for digital memory. But Micron, the only memory-maker producing capacious DRAM, fast NAND and best-of-both-worlds 3D XPoint memory, is already rising to the challenge. Our solutions enable thought-quick processing of virtual galaxies of data, and they are only going to become denser, faster and more efficient with time.

What’s next? Created virtual-reality environments for friends who must be apart? A movie in which every person in the world is a star for 15 seconds? A musical created with aliens from outer space or with singing, dancing robots? For these and other remote art projects to work, many things must happen, including new memory architectures that can more rapidly draw on an increasingly vast repository of stored data. Micron is poised to lead the charge, memory first, to the collaborative, creative heart of the Connected Age.

+