在边缘驾驭更多智能

抓住盗贼:安保机器人如何为我们的生活保驾护航

RATE THIS STORY:
Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable
VOTES SO FAR

 

可怜的保安。在诸如监狱和熙熙攘攘的购物中心这样繁忙的环境中,他们需要立刻出现在任何地方。而在相对孤立的环境中——比如在一个孤独的仓库里值夜班——他们可能很难保持全神贯注和警觉。

安保机器人就不会有这些问题。相反,人工智能系统使它们在工作时不会感到疲倦或无聊,流媒体视频使它们能够呈现监视范围内的一切动态,从而让其他人快速赶到现场。

它们能照看商店、监狱、学校,甚至您的家,这些正在经历一场变革。人工智能、流媒体视频和其他互联技术为我们创造了一种可以全天 24 小时工作,在黑暗中也能看眼观六路,耳听八方的安保人员。

在仓库、购物中心、监狱、办公楼、加油站和其他地方,使用机器人进行监控是一种较新的趋势,而且这种趋势在世界各地都在上升。仅在美国,2018 年这些机器人的市场就达到 21.1 亿美元,并且根据一份报告预计,这个市场到 2024 年将达到 33.3 亿美元。

“一名警卫只能看这么多地方,”销售 Nimbo 监视机器人的 Turing Video 公司业务发展副总裁 Thomas Stoker 表示。“而这些机器人扩大了监视范围。无聊的工作可以交由机器人来完成,这样警卫就可以执行更重要的任务。

科技让人类变得更有人情味。”

技术的融合

安保机器人越来越受欢迎,它们守卫着购物中心、仓库、停车场、医院、银行、企业园区、机场、加油站等地点。它们的移动范围各不相同,包括从扫描过往车辆牌照的静止机器人,到四轮全地形车辆。

它们运用各种互联技术来巡逻、通信、记录,甚至追踪入侵者。LIDAR;摄像和摄影;人工智能与机器学习;即时定位与地图构建 (SLAM);传感器;物联网;全球定位系统:这些数字警卫包含了安保人员所需的一切东西。

摄像头能始终飞速运行,并且它们可以跑得几乎和一头飞奔的公牛一样快。Turing Video 公司生产的 Nimbo 机器人就是一个例子:它的身体由个人交通公司 Segway 制造,可以运送一名人类保安,以每小时 12 英里的速度进行长达两个小时的激烈追逐。

在某些令人担忧的任务上,机器人警卫的表现超过了人类。它们将完全取代人类吗? Stoker 认为不会。他说:“无论使用哪种安全设备,安全监控摄像机亦或是先进的人工智能安保机器人,都以与人类建立共生关系为目的;它们只是安保工具箱中的一个新工具罢了。

人类会始终参与进来。”

这些机器人如何工作

为了让安保机器人启动并运行,人类需要为机器人的工作地点和工作方式创建策略和参数。

在人工智能和图像识别软件的帮助下,机器人将探索待巡逻的空间。或许借助于一种不断旋转的光探测和测距 (LIDAR) 传感器,机器人能绘制出房间及房间内的一切物体的轮廓。

“科技让人类变得更有人情味。”

然后,人类保安在地图上选择巡逻点,机器人以重复模式从一个点移动到另一个点,同时不断地扫描该区域。机器人不仅可以使用 LIDAR 和摄像机,还可以使用热成像摄影机,使它和监控机器人的人能够在黑暗中看到物体。

在整个巡逻过程中,机器人利用其人工智能和机器学习算法来标记它看到的一切。人工智能数据库和图像识别软件正在不断发展,以识别更多东西:动物、车辆、人类,甚至是特定的面孔。

“人工智能知道它看到的是人,而不是负鼠,”Stoker 说。

打击犯罪的伙伴

虽然在制造工艺、型号和制造商之间存在差异,但所有这些滚动巡警都依赖于某种类型的人工智能:如果机器人发现入侵者或其他异常情况,它会向中央安全中心或值班的人类保安发出警报。响应者可以立即看到发生了什么,并远程排查嫌疑对象。这一功能旨在防止虚假警报,例如,因为发现一个无辜的夜间看门人而报警。

Stoker 说,虚假警报有时代价高昂。警察、消防队和其他应急响应人员在接到一定数量的电话后往往要收费。如果电话不断打来,他们可能会完全停止接听电话。当这种情况发生时,保险费用就会飙升。

人工智能还帮助人类保安决定如何应对警报。人工智能可以提供建议和替代方案,从而能轻松地快速质问入侵者、通过放大屏幕更近距离地观察、呼叫另一名警卫、激活警笛或警报、呼叫楼宇物业部门、报警或采取其他应对措施。事件发生后,这些设备收集的所有数据都可用于审查和作为执法证据。

“进无止境”

尽管这项技术看起来很有前途,尤其是对于那些负担不起 24 小时保安费用的中型企业来说是个不错的选择,但机器人保安还不够理想。

  • 户外监视可能很棘手。LIDAR 要绘制监视区域的地图,必须有墙壁将信号反射回来。如果没有这些边界,机器人将把外部空间视为是无限的。
  • 小型机器人可能很难被汽车和卡车看到,也不适合在停车场巡逻。昂贵的机器人设备虽然可能很坚固,但如果驾驶员不注意,它们却不如装有4英寸提升装置的卡车结实。
  • 虽然机器人可以上楼梯,但这些设计也会牺牲一些功能,妨碍它们在安全方面的应用,这意味着多层空间可能需要多个机器人。
  • 人类倾向于用怀疑敌视,甚至攻击它们

Stoker 说,随着时间推移,机器人保安面临的这些和其他限制几乎肯定会得到解决,并且将会出现新功能。其中可能包括:

  • 根据要求或自主呼叫紧急响应。
  • 护送员工上车——这对那些工作到深夜的人来说尤其重要。
  • 守卫私人住宅,尤指在夜间或屋主外出时。
  • 检测泄漏、线路热点和其他危险。

隐藏的手:内存

随着机器人制造商对机器人监控、内存和存储技术的改进,这些对于实时流媒体视频、人工智能和其他支持滚动巡警的功能来说已经至关重要的技术将会继续增长。

例如,对于无缝、连续的视频流,5G 蜂窝技术将至关重要,因为与目前的双车道公路数据传输相比,5G 蜂窝技术广阔的带宽创造了一条真正的信息高速公路。

所有这些信息都需要更快的处理,以避免可能会导致记录中的像素化或空白的“瓶颈”。而且,在时间紧迫的情况下,立即访问视频和其他大型文件可能需要将其存储在靠近机器的“边缘”上,或者存储在设备、可移动卡、驱动器、本地计算机中。

美光工业和多细分市场经理 Taufique Ahmed 说,许多企业也更喜欢边缘计算提供的保密性。

“人工智能知道它看到的是人,而不是负鼠,”Stoker 说。

监控机器人捕捉到的视频可能包括一个机构最私密的地方,比如仓库库存和计算机机房。将这些数据放到云端往往会让企业领导者感到紧张:如果它们遭到黑客攻击怎么办?

“人们仍然认为,一旦你把数据放到云端,就会有人试图利用它,”Ahmed 说。“这是监控系统将存储置于边缘的原因之一。”

因此,SoC(芯片上的系统,其中整个系统的计算组件适合一个芯片)正在处理越来越多的图像,这占用了大量的空间,他说。对动态随机存取存储器 (DRAM) 和操作存储器的需求正在迅速增长。

美光 MicroSD 内存卡可以存储大量数据(多达 1 TB),并且我们的 DRAM 产品(包括我们的顶级 GDDR6),能生成数据,以飞快速度和海量同时处理它们,从而适应 5G 和 AI 等技术。

MicroSD 卡的设计考虑到监控视频的边缘存储,它包含特殊的固件,能支持连续视频录制——这对安全机器人的操作至关重要——并尽可能减少掉帧和视频丢失。而且,它通过使用密码锁保护技术来保持存储数据的私密性。

一个更安全的世界

Stoker 说,这些新兴技术使公司在物理和数字方面都感到更加安全,并提升了我们日常生活的舒适度。

他说:“知道商场里有一个安全机器人,即使你可能根本没想过,也会让你感到更自在。” 他说,在家里,白天充当语音助手的人工智能到了晚上可能会成为你的保安。

“谁知道未来会怎样?” Stoker 说。“不管是怎样,机器人都将是其中的一部分。”

+

Driving more intelligence at the edge

To Catch a Thief: How Security Robots Help Make Our Lives Safer

RATE THIS STORY:
Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable
VOTES SO FAR

Pity the poor security guard. In busy environments such as prisons and crowded shopping malls, they need to be everywhere at once. And in a more isolated setting—on the night shift in a lonely warehouse, for instance—they may struggle to stay engaged and alert.

Security robots don’t have these problems. Instead, they have artificial intelligence that works without getting tired or bored and streaming video to broadcast everything they see, bringing others on the scene no matter where they might be.

Minding the store—or the prison, school, or, even, soon, your home—is undergoing a transformation. Artificial intelligence, streaming video, and other connected technologies are giving us security guards that can work 24 hours a day, can see in the dark, and have eyes—literally—in the backs of their heads.

Using robots for surveillance is a fairly new trend, and an upward one around the world, in warehouses, shopping malls, prisons, office buildings, gas stations and other locations. In the U.S. alone, the market for these machines reached $2.11 billion in 2018 and, according to one report, is expected to reach $3.33 billion by 2024.

“A guard can only watch so many places,” says Thomas Stoker, vice-president of business development at Turing Video, seller of the Nimbo surveillance robot. “These robots extend the range. And the boring work can be taken care of by robots so that guards can perform more critical tasks.

“Technology allows humans to be more human.”

A convergence of technologies

Exploding in popularity, security bots are guarding shopping malls, warehouses, parking lots, hospitals, banks, corporate campuses, airports, at least one gas station, and more. They range in mobility from stationary bots that scan license plates of passing cars to four-wheeled, all-terrain vehicles.

They use a variety of connected technologies to patrol, communicate, document, and even chase down intruders. LIDAR; videography and photography; artificial intelligence and machine learning; simultaneous location and mapping (SLAM); sensors; the Internet of Things; GPS: these digital guards pack everything a security guard needs.

The video cameras are always on and they can run nearly as fast as a speeding bull. One example is Turing Video’s Nimbo robot, its body made by the personal-transportation company Segway, can carry a human guard in hot pursuit for up to two hours, rolling at 12 mph.

Robot guards surpass their human counterparts at certain tasks, which some find worrisome. Will they replace people altogether? Stoker predicts not: he says no matter which security device is being used, whether a security camera or an advanced AI security robot, they are designed to work with humans in a symbiotic relationship; a new tool in the security guards tool belt.

“People are always going to be involved,” Stoker says.

How these robots work

To get a security robot up and running, a human creates the strategy and parameters for where and how the machine will work.

Aided by AI and image recognition software, the robot explores the space to be patrolled. Likely using a revolving light-detection-and-ranging (LIDAR) sensor, the bot maps the perimeter of the room, including all the objects within.

“Technology allows humans to be more human.”
Thomas Stoker
Vice President of Business Development, Turing Video

The human guard then selects points on the map for patrol, the robot traveling from spot to spot in a repetitive pattern while continually scanning the area. Robots can use not only LIDAR and video cameras but also thermal cameras that enable it—and anyone monitoring the robot—to see in the dark.

Throughout its patrols, the robot makes use of its AI and machine learning algorithms to label everything it sees. AI databases and image recognition software is ever growing to recognize more things: animals, vehicles, humans, even specific faces.

“The artificial intelligence knows it’s seeing a person and not a possum,” Stoker says.

A partner against crime

Differences exist among makes, models, and manufacturers, but all these rolling patrollers rely on some type of AI: Should a robot spy an intruder or other anomaly, it sends an alarm to a central security center or to human guards on watch. The responder can instantly see what is happening and remotely confront the suspect. This feature is designed to prevent false alarms—calling the police on an innocent night custodian, for instance.

False alarms can get expensive, Stoker says. Police, fire, and other emergency responders tend to charge fees after a certain number of calls. If the calls keep coming, they may stop responding altogether. When that happens, insurance costs skyrocket.

AI also helps human guards decide how to react to alerts. The AI can provide suggestions and alternatives, making it easy to quickly question an intruder, get a closer look by zooming in, call another guard, activate a siren or alarm, call building operations, alert police, or do something else. After an event, all the data these devices collect becomes available for review and as evidence for law enforcement.

‘The sky is the limit’

As promising as the technology seems, especially for mid-sized businesses unable to afford around-the-clock human guards, robot guards are not yet perfect.

  • Outdoor surveillance can be tricky. For LIDAR to map surveillance areas, walls must be present to bounce the signal back. Without those boundaries, the robot sees outside spaces as infinite.
  • Smaller bots can be hard for cars and trucks to see and may not be appropriate for parking lot patrols. Expensive robotic equipment, as robust as it may be, is no match for a truck with a 4 inch lift kit when the driver isn’t paying attention.
  • Although robots can go up stairs, these designs come with sacrifices that could prohibit their adoption in security, meaning that multi-floor spaces may need multiple robots.
  • Humans tend to regard them with suspicion or even hostility, even attacking them.

In time, these and other limits to robot security will almost certainly be resolved—and new capabilities will emerge, Stoker says. These could include:

  • Calling emergency response, upon request or autonomously.
  • Escorting employees to their vehicles—especially valuable for those who work late at night.
  • Guarding individual homes, especially at night or when the homeowner is away.
  • Detecting leaks, wiring hotspots, and other hazards.

The hidden hand: memory

As robot manufacturers improve the technologies behind bot surveillance, memory and storage—already critical for live-streaming video, artificial intelligence, and other capabilities enabling these rolling patrollers—will continue to grow in importance.

For seamless, continuous video streaming, for instance, 5G cellular technologies will be critical, their expansive bandwidth creating a true information superhighway in comparison with the two-lane road data travels on now.

All that information will need faster processing to avoid “bottlenecks” that can cause pixilation or gaps in recordings. And accessing videos and other large files instantly, when time is of the essence, may call for storing it on the “edge,” close to the machine, either in the device, a removable card or drive, or a local computer.

Many businesses also prefer the confidentiality that edge computing affords, says Taufique Ahmed, Micron Industrial and Multi Market Segment Manager.

“The artificial intelligence knows it’s seeing a person and not a possum."
Thomas Stoker

The video that surveillance robots capture may include an organization’s most secret places—its warehouse inventory; its computer room. Putting this data into the cloud tends to make business leaders nervous: what if it gets hacked?

“There’s still the perception that, once you put data into the cloud, someone could try to use it to their advantage,” Ahmed says. “This is one reason why surveillance systems are putting storage on the edge.”

As a result, SoCs (Systems on a Chip, in which an entire system’s computing components fit on a single chip) are handling more and more images, which take up a large amount of space, he says. Demands on dynamic random access memory (DRAM) and operating storage are rapidly increasing.

Micron MicroSD memory cards can hold vast quantities of data in storage—as much as one terabyte—and our DRAM products, including our top-of-the-line GDDR6, yield data for processing at very fast speeds and in very large amounts at once, accommodating such technologies as 5G and AI.

Designed with edge storage of surveillance video in mind, MicroSD cards include special firmware that enables continuous video recording—critical for security robots’ operation—with minimal frame drops and video loss. And it keeps stored data private by using password lock protection.

A safer world

These emerging technologies enable companies to feel more secure both physically and digitally, and add to the comfort of our everyday lives, as well, Stoker says.

“Knowing a security robot is in your shopping mall, even though you might not even think about it, just makes you feel more at ease,” he says. At home, he says, the same AI acting as your voice assistant by day could be your security guard at night.

“Who knows what the future will be?” Stoker says. “Whatever it is, robots will be a part of it.”

+