激发科学和医学领域的下一代发现

技术和肿瘤:一记有力的组合拳

RATE THIS STORY:
Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable
VOTES SO FAR

2011 年,Beth Shia 被诊断出患有侵袭性乳腺癌,在接受了手术(包括双侧乳腺切除术)、放疗和化疗后,她的病并没有好转的迹象。2018 年,她的肿瘤医生在她的大脑、淋巴结和肺部发现了肿瘤。她知道,预后并不好。

后来,她的肿瘤医生建议她参加俄勒冈健康与科学大学 (Oregon Health & Science University) 的一项用于研究“精准”癌症医学的临床试验。研究人员对她的肿瘤进行了各种测量,并分析了它们的成分。他们还为她的肿瘤拍了高分辨率照片,而这是一个费力的手工过程。在研究人员和肿瘤学家对 Shia 的肿瘤进行了深入研究后,他们为她设计了一个量身定做的治疗方案。

没有人知道这些方法是否有效。Shia 是参加这项研究的第三个人,所以没有太多数据可以参考。但她还是尝试了一下这个计划。那时,她已经没有什么可以失去的,每一次尝试都承载着生的希望。

技术有拯救生命的潜力

新兴技术正在被用来收集和分析像 Shia 这样的患者的数据,从而让科学家们了解各种癌症的构成和倾向,甚至它们的 DNA。

打开创新治疗方法(比如能治疗肿瘤同时不伤害患者的新药物和药物组合)的钥匙可能潜伏在每个癌细胞独特的分子结构中。利用人工智能、内存、存储和深度学习加速技术来解锁这些秘密,使医疗专业人员能够针对个体肿瘤类型定制个性化治疗方案。

“个性化癌症药物”又被称为“靶向治疗”、“精准肿瘤学”和“精准医疗”。它是癌症研究的热门趋势,并且科学家们认为,这一领域前景广阔。尽管仍处于起步阶段,但科学家们对它的应用抱有很高期望。

打开创新治疗方法(比如能治疗肿瘤同时不伤害患者的新药物和药物组合)的钥匙可能潜伏在每个癌细胞独特的分子结构中。

随着技术以越来越快的速度进步,我们对癌症的认识也将不断提高。随着癌症的奥秘被揭开,科学家希望将这种可怕的疾病从死刑降级为可治疗的疾病,并让它的受害者不再因侵入性治疗而生病。

“这是参与癌症研究的好时机,”位于波特兰的 OHSU 奈特癌症研究所癌症早期检测高级研究中心 (CEDAR) 主任 Sadik Esener 博士说。OHSU 是个性化癌症医学研究和精确癌症早期检测研究领域的领导者,并且美光正在合作为 OHSU 和 CEDAR 提供其工作所需的技术。

“这是一个我们将取得进展的时刻,而且进展非常迅速,”Esener 博士说。“我不好说我们能否治愈癌症,但我们有希望把它变成一种慢性但可控的疾病。”

Esener 博士承认,这与其说是一种治愈,不如说是一种控制。但它可以在挽救癌症患者生命的同时保持他们的生活质量。

定制治疗

精准医疗是一种相对较新的癌症治疗方法,目前仅应用于一小部分患者。但是,随着有关癌症患者和肿瘤基因的数据量的增长,以及更多针对特定肿瘤类型的药物被科学家们发现,靶向治疗将成为常规而非例外。

今天,医生根据受影响的身体部位(如肺癌或乳腺癌)及其分期来开出治疗处方。然而,近年来,研究人员发现,导致原本健康的细胞发生癌变的 DNA 变化因人而异。这些差异可能有助于解释为什么看起来相同的肿瘤(影响相同的器官、处于相同分期)对相同的治疗却可能有不同的反应。

OHSU 和其他组织的研究人员正在使用技术来研究和记录肿瘤的成分。通过分析它们的 DNA 和蛋白质,以及检查肿瘤细胞及其环境的高分辨率图像,他们尝试辨别哪种药物或药物组合将会阻止它们的生长、缩小它们,甚至完全消灭它们。

由于研究处于早期阶段,数据有限,因此决定使用哪种药物可能像是一个猜谜游戏。但每一项新试验都能提供更多信息,让我们了解哪些方法对特定肿瘤类型有效,哪些无效,从而增加后续癌症患者成功的机会。

“这是参与癌症研究的好时机。”

在 OHSU,研究人员创建了 SMMART(对治疗的分子和结构反应的系列测量)平台,用于研究肿瘤及其对治疗的反应,然后根据之前对具有相似成分的肿瘤有效的方法来设计治疗方案。通常情况下,研究人员会在肿瘤产生耐药性之前,通过开具药物组合处方来发起多管齐下的攻击。研究人员将持续对参与该项目的患者进行随访,以便根据肿瘤的变化调整治疗方案。这使 SMMART 平台有最大机会使参与项目的个人受益。

SMMART 项目当前的重点是晚期转移性癌症,其目标是实现持久和可耐受的疾病控制。虽然该项目可能无法治愈这些患者,但该项目制定的用于控制晚期癌症的策略如果被用于早期发现的肿瘤,则很可能实现治愈。

在分析了 Shia 的癌症后,OHSU 团队推荐了一种针对 Shia 特殊基因构成的两种药物组合:一种他们认为可能对她的肿瘤类型有效的“靶向”疗法,以及一种激活免疫系统对抗癌症的药物。Shia 的恶性癌症对她之前的治疗没有反应,随着时间的流逝,她的癌症在扩散。

治疗,还是不治疗?

如果说所有癌症都有一个共同点,那就是:早期发现能增加治疗成功的可能性。有些癌症在被发现之前会在宿主体内潜伏几十年。肺癌是众所周知的难以在早期发现的癌症。

Esener 博士说,为了帮助肿瘤学家在早期发现和治疗癌症,CEDAR 的科学家们正在开发一种“流体活检”技术,用于检测体液中的“生物标记”或指标。他说,血液测试在早期检测方面很有前途,以至于制药公司正表现出对这项研究的兴趣。

更棘手的问题是发现了癌症之后该怎么办。恶性肿瘤(即那些迅速扩散的肿瘤)需要大胆的治疗手法。其他肿瘤不会增长超过一定的规模或可能增长缓慢,从而它们不太可能造成痛苦或死亡。但是医生该如何区分致命肿瘤和非致命肿瘤? 这项工作是 CEDAR 研究的基石。

“我们认为只靠人类思维是不能解决问题的,”Esener 博士说。“我们相信,我们需要深度学习算法和机器来帮助尽早区分致命癌症和非致命癌症,这样我们就可以在正确的时间为正确的人提供正确的药物。”

Esener 博士说,癌症在发展过程中往往会发生变化。早期有效的药物在后期可能无效,反之亦然。就像在生活中一样,在癌症中,时间就是一切。

缺乏数据

精准医疗似乎有望有效治疗癌症,但“终结我们所知的癌症”仍面临一些障碍。

数据是一个主要障碍:目前还没有足够的数据来让研究人员为大多数癌症患者找到正确的治疗方法。这仍是一项新科学,收集关于特定癌症及其发展的信息需要时间。

“癌症不是一种疾病,它可能是数千种疾病,”Esener 博士说。“首先,不同器官存在不同癌症。但是,对于同一个器官,两个有相同器官疾病(癌症)的人可能有完全不同的疾病。更糟糕的是,随着疾病的发展,疾病会发生变化,产生新的细胞类型。这种疾病会随着时间而变化。”

Esener 博士说,由于很多变化同时发生,因此获得大量数据进行分析和对比将是开发靶向癌症疗法的关键。

“能够获取纵向数据非常重要,”他说。“我们需要及时获取数据。例如,做血液活检,并且每隔一周或每月分析一次血液。然后从这些数据中了解疾病的发展,并能够预测疾病将如何发展。

“从每名患者身上,我们学到了更多知识,并且我们试着把学到的内容应用到下一名患者身上。并在疾病发展过程中应用到这个患者身上。”

“从每名患者身上,我们学到了更多知识,并且我们试着把学到的内容应用到下一名患者身上。并在疾病发展过程中应用到这个患者身上。”

随着科学家们收集的数据越来越多,他们希望能够进行更准确的癌症诊断和预后,从而让选择的治疗方案取得成功。研究机构和个体研究人员正在形成共享数据的集体,而 OHSU Knight Center 自己的“健康俄勒冈项目”计划收集至少 100,000 名俄勒冈州居民的数据,并对那些癌症高危人群进行持续的测试。

由美国国家癌症研究所 (NCI) 和美国国家人类基因组研究所共同发起的癌症基因组图谱计划 (TCGA) 已经收集了关于 33 种癌症类型的 2.5 pb 的数据,并且这些数据都是公开的。许多其他机构和私人项目也在研究和收集数据。例如,OHSU 和 SMMART 项目正在参与 NCI 的人类肿瘤图谱计划,其中每个患者产生的数据量将是 TCGA 的 10-100 倍。

现在,技术的责任是跟上步伐。为了存储和处理所有这些数据,必然需要大量快速内存。美光正与 OHSU 的研究人员合作,为他们提供所需的内存和深度学习加速解决方案。

“美光为我们提供了很棒的技术,”Esener 博士说。

美光有针对性的技术

突破性研究需要创新技术——不是过去计算机设计采用的“通用”方法,而是为特定需求量身定制的内存和加速解决方案。

美光的高级计算解决方案团队 (ACS) 正在提出问题、倾听答案以及构建适用于奈特癌症研究所的研究项目的深度学习加速器。它使 OHSU 的精确癌症团队能够查看肿瘤的三维、高分辨率图像;快速准确地处理复杂的数据集,以便为每个患者在正确的时间找到正确的癌症治疗方法;不仅协助进行诊断,还能协助区分致死性和非致死性肿瘤。

“我们正在做一些繁重的工作,”美光高级计算解决方案运营总监 Mark Hur 说,“用美光的深度学习加速器 (DLA) 为他们提供一种加速其推理引擎的方式。我们从内存芯片开始构建它,一直到最终产品;我们所说的是一种精简的垂直整合,从而打造一个针对他们的工作负载进行优化的[解决方案]。”

“推理引擎”是人工智能的组成部分,它利用数据来解决问题。为了发挥作用,它需要阅读、分析和组织大量信息,这需要大量内存以及大量时间和能力。

“我们正在帮助医疗服务提供者找到解决现实问题的解决方案。”

例如,在 3D 显微镜下观察肿瘤细胞,以及收集科学家希望用于准确诊断和治疗肿瘤的数据,这些都需要非常高分辨率的图像。所需要的内存量是如此之大,以至于在过去,对肿瘤图像的处理是分段进行的,而不是整体的;这些图像在拼接起来观看时会变得不清晰。

但是,美光的 ACS 团队找到了一种方法,可以使其高带宽深度学习加速器的内存翻倍,并使用美光的可编程 FPGA 推理加速器来提高处理速度。结合美光基于 FPGA 的计算能力和其很快的内存技术(例如其 DDR4 和高速内存),奈特癌症研究所的研究人员将能够处理整个高分辨率肿瘤图像,这一点这对 OHSU 的任务至关重要。

“我们专注于这些数据非常丰富的机器学习应用领域:它是什么样子? 我们如何构建下一代内存技术来解决这些特殊问题?” 美光医疗人工智能首席研究员和 OHSU 协作者 Bambi DeLaRosa 说。“我们正在帮助医疗服务提供者找到解决现实问题的解决方案。”

从无望到充满希望

测试表明,Beth Shia 开始接受试验中推荐的药物和疗法的联合治疗的两个月后,转移的癌细胞从她的大脑中消失了。她肺部和淋巴结的肿瘤减少了 70% 到 80%。

在参加试验六个月之后,扫描结果根本没有发现癌症。

Shia 告诉当地一家报纸,她仍然很谨慎。她说,她把自己的治疗看作是与疾病共存的一种方式,而不是治愈。

“说实话,我不相信这会让它消失。这只是让我与疾病一起生活几年,并继续接受治疗,”Shia 说。“我希望,如果这种特定的方案或药物组合不起作用,将来能有其他方法让我尝试一下。”

如果世界希望“终结我们所知的癌症”,像 Esener 博士和 OHSU 团队正在努力做的那样,那么将需要在众多行业和学科之间开展强有力的合作。美光的愿景是改变人们使用信息的方式,从而实现更加丰富的生命体验。向研究人员提供他们所需的抗癌技术是实现愿景的一种方式。

对于 Esener 博士来说,与癌症的斗争植根于他自己的生活。他的妻子和母亲死于癌症,丧失亲人以及由此带来的精神创伤促使他致力于精准肿瘤学的研究。

“我决定把我科学生涯剩下的十年聚焦于癌症,”他说。“我认为这是我们需要解决的最严重的问题之一。我们感到自己肩上有责任努力找到解决这个可怕问题的解决方案。”

+

Sparking next-generation discovery in science and medicine

Technology and Oncology: A Powerful One-Two Punch

RATE THIS STORY:
Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable
VOTES SO FAR

After surgeries—including a double mastectomy—radiation, and chemotherapy, the aggressive breast cancer Beth Shia had been diagnosed with in 2011 showed no signs of quitting. In 2018 her oncologist found tumors in her brain, lymph nodes, and lungs. The prognosis, she knew, wasn’t good.

Then her oncologist suggested she enroll in an Oregon Health & Science University clinical trial studying “precision” cancer medicine. Researchers took a variety of measurements of her tumors and analyzed their composition. They also took high-resolution images of her tumors, a laborious manual process. After researchers and oncologists concluded their advanced study of Shia’s tumors, a tailor-made treatment plan was devised.

Whether any of it would work, no one knew. Shia was only the third person to enroll in the study, so there wasn’t much data to go on. But she gave the plan a try. At that point, she had nothing to lose—and everything to gain.

Technology’s life-saving potential

New and emerging technologies are being used to collect and analyze data from patients like Shia to teach scientists about the makeup and proclivities of various cancers all the way down to their DNA.

Keys to innovative treatments—such as new drugs and combinations of drugs that attack the tumor, not the patient—may lurk in the unique molecular structure of each cancer cell run amok. Unlocking those secrets using AI, memory, storage, and deep learning acceleration technologies is enabling medical professionals to tailor individual treatments for individual tumor types.

“Personalized cancer medicine,” also known as “targeted therapy”, “precision oncology” and “precision medicine,” is the hot trend in cancer research, one that scientists say holds great promise. Although still in its infancy, scientists have high hopes for its use.

Keys to innovative treatments—such as new drugs and combinations of drugs that attack the tumor, not the patient—may lurk in the unique molecular structure of each cancer cell run amok.

And as technologies improve at an ever-increasing pace, so will our knowledge of cancer. Its mysteries revealed, scientists hope to downsize this dreaded disease from death sentence to treatable illness, its victims no longer sickened by invasive therapies.

“This is a very good time to be involved in cancer research,” said Dr. Sadik Esener, director of the Knight Cancer Institute’s Cancer Early Detection Advanced Research (CEDAR) Center at OHSU in Portland. OHSU is a leader in the fields of personalized cancer medicine research and precision cancer early detection research, and Micron is working in collaboration to provide OHSU and CEDAR with the technologies it needs to do its work.

“This is a time where we are going to make some progress, and are making progress very rapidly,” Dr. Esener said. “Whether we can cure cancer, I cannot say, but we will, hopefully, be able to turn it into a chronic yet manageable type of disease.”

That’s more a control than a cure, Dr. Esener admits. But it’s one that could save the lives of cancer victims while preserving their quality of life.

Tailor-made treatments

Precision medicine is a relatively new approach in cancer therapy, and only used on a small percent of patients today. But as the amount of data generated on cancer patients and tumor genetics grows, and scientists discover more medicines to work on specific tumor types, targeted therapies stand to become the rule rather than the exception.

Today, physicians prescribe treatments according to the part of the body affected, such as lung or breast cancer, and its stage of progression. In recent years, however, researchers have discovered that the changes in DNA that cause formerly healthy cells to become cancerous differ from patient to patient. These differences may help explain why tumors that appear identical—affecting the same organ and at the same stage—may react differently to the same treatment.

Researchers at OHSU and other organizations are using technology to study and record the compositions of tumors. By analyzing their DNA and proteins, and examining high-resolution images of the tumor cells and their environments, they try to discern which drug or combination of drugs will halt their growth, shrink them, or even eradicate them completely.

With the research in early stages and data limited, deciding which medicines to use can be a guessing game. But each new trial provides more information about what works on specific tumor types and what doesn’t, increasing the chances of success for subsequent cancer patients.

“This is a very good time to be involved in cancer research.”
Dr. Sadik Esener
Director, Knight Cancer Institute’s Cancer Early Detection Advanced Research Center

At OHSU, researchers built the SMMART (Serial Measurements of Molecular and Architectural Responses to Therapy) platform to study tumors and their responses to treatment, then design therapies according to what has worked before on tumors with similar compositions. Often, they prescribe drug combinations to launch a multi-pronged attack before the tumor can develop resistance. Patients on the program are followed over time, so that treatments can be adjusted as the tumors change. This allows the SMMART platform to have the best chance of benefiting the individuals in the program.

The current focus of the SMMART program is on advanced metastatic cancers where the aim is for durable and tolerable control of disease. While the program may not be able to provide a cure for these patients, the hope is that the strategies developed by the program to control advanced cancers may well be curative when applied to tumors detected at an earlier stage.

After the OHSU team was able to analyze Shia’s cancer, they recommended a two-drug combination for her specific genetic makeup: a “targeted” therapy they thought might be effective against her tumor type, and a medicine that activates the immune system to fight cancer. Shia’s aggressive form of cancer had not responded to her previous treatments, her cancer was spreading as the clock continued to tick by.

To treat, or not to treat?

If there’s one thing all cancers have in common it may be this: Early detection increases the likelihood that treatment will succeed. Some cancers hide in their host’s body for decades before being discovered. Lung cancers are notoriously difficult to detect in the early stages.

To help oncologists find and treat cancers in the early stages, CEDAR scientists are developing “fluid biopsy” techniques for detecting cancer “biomarkers,” or indicators, in body fluids, Dr. Esener says. Blood tests appear especially promising for early detection—so much so, he says, that pharmaceutical companies are expressing interest in the research.

Far trickier is the question of what to do once cancer is found. Aggressive tumors—those that spread quickly—require aggressive treatment. Others do not grow beyond a certain size or may grow so slowly that they are unlikely to cause suffering or death. But how can doctors differentiate lethal cancer tumors from non-lethal ones? Doing so is a cornerstone of CEDAR’s research.

“We don't think that we can do it with only human thinking,” Dr. Esener said. “We believe that we need deep-learning algorithms and machines to help us differentiate lethal cancers from non-lethal cancers as early as possible, so that we can give the right drug to the right person at the right time.”

Cancers tend to change as they progress, Dr. Esener says. Drugs that might work in the early stage could be ineffective in later stages, and vice versa. In cancer as in life, timing can be everything.

A dearth of data

As promising as precision medicine seems for effective cancer treatment, a few obstacles remain to “ending cancer as we know it.”

Data is a major hurdle: There isn’t enough of it—yet—to enable researchers to find the right treatments for most cancer patients. The science is still new and collecting information about specific cancers and their progression takes time.

“Cancer is not one disease, it's maybe thousands of diseases,” Dr. Esener said. “First of all, there is a large variety of cancers, depending on the organ. But also, for the same organ, two people that have the same organ disease, cancer, may have totally different diseases. And worse than that, as the disease progresses, the disease changes, and new types of cells are generated. The disease changes over time.”

With so much going on at once, having massive amounts of data for analysis and comparison will be key for developing targeted cancer therapies, Dr. Esener says.

“It's very important to be able to take longitudinal data,” he said. “We need to take data in time. For example, to do blood biopsies, and analyze the blood every other week or every month. And then to learn from that data the progression of the disease and be able to predict how the disease is going to progress.

“From every patient, we learn a bit more, and we try to apply what we have learned to the next patient. And also, to the same patient, as they progress through the disease.”
Dr. Sadik Esener

“From every patient, we learn a bit more, and we try to apply what we have learned to the next patient. And also, to the same patient, as they progress through the disease.”

As scientists collect more data, they hope to achieve more accurate cancer diagnosis and prognosis for a chosen treatment’s success. Institutions and individual researchers are forming collectives to share data, and the OHSU Knight Center’s own “Healthy Oregon Project” has its own plans to collect data from at least 100,000 state of Oregon residents and perform ongoing tests on those at high risk for cancer.

The Cancer Genome Atlas program (TCGA), a project by the National Cancer Institute (NCI) and the National Human Genome Research Institute, has compiled 2.5 petabytes of data for 33 cancer types, all publicly available. Many other institutions and private projects are researching and collecting data, too. For example, OHSU and the SMMART program are participating in the NCI’s Human Tumor Atlas program, in which the amount of data generated per patient will be 10-100 times as much as in TCGA.

Now, the onus is on technology to keep pace. To store and process all that data, a vast amount of fast memory is imperative. Micron is working with researchers at OHSU to provide them with the memory and deep learning acceleration solutions they need.

“What Micron is offering us is a great thing,” Dr. Esener said.

Micron’s targeted technologies

Groundbreaking research requires innovative technologies—not the “one size fits all” approach that computer design has taken in the past, but memory and acceleration solutions tailor-made for specific needs.

To enable OHSU’s precision cancer team to view three-dimensional, high-resolution images of tumors; process complex data sets quickly and accurately to find the right cancer therapy at the right time for each patient, and aid in not only diagnosis but also differentiation between lethal and non-lethal tumors, Micron’s Advanced Computing Solutions team (ACS) is asking questions, listening to answers, and building their deep learning accelerators especially suited to tackle the research projects at the Knight Cancer Institute.

“We’re doing some heavy lifting,” said Mark Hur, Micron’s Director of Operations of Advanced Computing Solutions “giving them a way to accelerate their inference engine using Micron’s Deep Learning Accelerators (DLA). We’re building it from the memory chip through to the end product; we’re talking streamlined vertical integration to create [a solution] that’s optimized for their workload.”

An “inference engine” is the component of AI that solves problems using data. To work, it needs to read, analyze, and organize enormous volumes of information, which can take massive amounts of memory and a lot of time and power.

“We're helping the healthcare providers find solutions to their real-world problems.”
Bambi DeLaRosa
Micron’s Healthcare AI Principal Investigator and OHSU collaborator

For instance, viewing tumor cells microscopically in 3D, and gathering the data scientists hope to use to accurately diagnose and treat a tumor requires a very high-resolution image. The memory required is so large that, in the past, the tumor images had to be processed in segments, rather than as a whole; the images losing clarity where they are stitched back together to be viewed.

But Micron’s ACS team found a way to double the memory on its high bandwidth Deep Learning Accelerator and speed up processing using Micron’s programmable FPGA inference accelerator. Combining Micron’s FPGA-based computing power with its fastest memory technologies such as its DDR4 and high speed memory will enable Knight Cancer Institute researchers to process entire high-resolution tumor images as a whole—critical to the OHSU mission.

“We're focusing on these very, very data-rich machine learning application spaces: What does that look like? How are we building next-generation memory technologies to solve those particular problems?” said Bambi DeLaRosa, Micron’s Healthcare AI Principal Investigator and OHSU collaborator. “We're helping the healthcare providers find solutions to their real-world problems.”

From hopeless to ‘hopeful’

Two months after Beth Shia began the combination of drugs and therapies recommended in her trial, tests showed that the metastasized cancer had vanished from her brain. The tumors in her lungs and lymph nodes had reduced by 70-80 percent.

Six months into the trial, scans found no cancer at all.

Shia told a local newspaper that she remains cautious. Rather than a cure, she said, she views her treatment as a way to live with the disease.

“Truthfully, I don’t believe this will make it go away. This will just allow me to live many years with this, continuing some treatment,” Shia said. “I’m hopeful if this particular protocol or combination of drugs doesn’t work, then there will be something else I could try.”

If the world hopes to “end cancer as we know it” as Dr. Esener and the OHSU team are striving to do, it will need a mighty collaboration across a multitude of industries and disciplines. Micron’s vision is to transform how the world uses information to enrich life. Providing researchers with the technology they need to fight cancer is one way that is being done.

For Dr. Esener, the fight against cancer is rooted in his own story. The loss of his wife and his mother to cancer, and the emotional toll those deaths took, spurred him to dedicate his research to precision oncology.

“I decided to focus the remaining ten years of my scientific life to cancer,” he said. “I think it’s one of the most serious problems that we need to address. We feel a responsibility on our shoulders to try to come up with solutions to this terrible problem.”

+