在边缘驾驭更多智能

一镜观一屋:VR 将建筑设计变为现实

想象一下,在一栋为你设计的还没有动工的大楼里走来走去:拱形的天花板,从宽大的窗户射进来的光线,螺旋形楼梯,或者,如果这是一栋商业建筑,过道里挤满了顾客,他们熙熙攘攘地评价你的商品。

但是,你会问,下午的阳光会不会太热? 朝北的窗户可能是最好的。或者你店里的过道看起来太拥挤,所以你要求改善客流。很快,你周围的空间就发生了变化,满足了你的要求:这里有一堵砖墙,那里有几扇法式门,房子这一侧的窗户小一些,整面墙都朝北,过道更宽。

再见,工程图。得益于数字技术的发展,建筑正在发生变化,而且它永远不会一成不变。客户不再需要眯着眼看页面上的线,并试图想象它们所定义的空间。再也不会有修改要求把建筑师送回绘图板,这会增加工作时间并提高成本——因为这些修改现在可以通过几次点击完成,甚至可以在客户要求时立即完成,而不需要任何操作。

虚拟现实 (VR) 和它的近亲增强现实 (AR) 不仅已经在改变着住宅、商业或工业建筑专业设计的体验,也在改变着设计本身的行为。“我们可以在翻第一铲土前,用 VR 来探索房子或建筑物。”Silverdraft Supercomputing 首席执行官 Amy Gile 表示。她公司推出的 Demon 和 Devil 超级计算机为建筑、工程和施工 (AEC) 等行业驱动新的和新兴的技术的发展,包括 VR、AR 和人工智能 (AI) 技术。

是“何时”的问题,不是“是否”的问题

未来 10 年,VR 和 AR 在所有行业的年增长率预计将达到 40% 至 80%,而客户将会对这些技术产生需求,AEC 行业将别无选择,只能提供这些技术。但通过减少错误及其随之而来的成本;通过创建更流畅、更协调的工作流程;以及在很多情况下通过把设计师从他们职业中颇为乏味的方面解脱出来,AEC 行业的从业者也将受益匪浅。通过让技术来完成繁重的工作,设计师真正可以进行设计

Gile 把建筑信息建模 (BIM) 软件(即利用 VR、AR、数据分析、云,以及最近的人工智能的软件)视为 AEC 时间轴上的下一个逻辑步骤。“首先是纸和铅笔。然后建筑师转向使用 AutoCAD 和 Revit 的数字技术进行 3D 设计,”Gile 说。“每次迭代都使客户更容易理解建筑师、承包商和工程师正在创建的愿景。” 她说,VR 和 AR 驱动的 BIM 软件“只是这个工具的另一种进化,它能让所有人达成共识并进行协作。”

VR 和 AR 的好处

如果你曾经凝视过遥远星系中的星星,或者在下雪时躺在沙滩上沐浴虚拟的阳光,那么你肯定已经知道 VR 很有趣。如果你曾使用 Holopad 在巴黎中世纪的宫殿 La Conciergerie 里走一走,去看现在的宴会厅,上面覆盖着它在 10 世纪时的样子,你就会知道 AR 技术的教育益处。在 AEC 行业中,这些技术为业内专业人员和客户提供了相同的好处,甚至更多。

但是在设计过程中,如何通过 VR 和 AR 能力来增强 AEC 项目? 这些技术能提供施工前、施工中和施工后的好处。

再见,工程图。得益于数字技术的发展,建筑正在发生变化,而且它永远不会一成不变。

施工前

获胜提案:对于 AEC 来说,VR 的好处甚至在潜在客户成为客户之前就已经开始。让感兴趣的人戴上一副 VR 眼镜,让他们在提议的设计方案中走一圈 ,这比那些仍然使用屏幕展示想法的人具有明显的竞争优势。如果潜在客户发现了问题,能够在他们眼前解决问题,可以显示出非 VR 用户无法提供的响应水平。对于时间紧迫的项目或那些具有其他挑战方面的项目,使用 VR 意味着达成交易与空手而归之间的区别。

简化工作流程:尽管许多专业人士对蓝图感到满意,但绘制蓝图可能需要数周的时间,还需要进行多次修改,从而减缓了项目进度并推高其价格。VR 和 AR 驱动的 BIM 软件可以将可视化到设计的时间缩短到仅有几个小时,并生成让客户满意的更高质量的渲染。

更准确的分析:由于 BIM 软件能对与项目相关的所有数据进行分类、筛选和分析,以获得更准确的成本估算和时间安排,因此,成本超支和错过最后期限可能成为历史。

增强协调:利用 VR 技术,建筑师、工程师、室内设计师、承包商和客户可以(在空间真正存在之前)同时位于同一个空间中,讨论材料、地形、技术、设计和项目的其他方面。当一个项目中的各方可以在一起工作,而不管他们的物理位置如何时,所有人都是赢家,尤其是客户。

Silverdraft 的 Gile 曾使用她公司的硬件和 VR BIM 软件来设计她的房子,并且她发现,在虚拟环境中进行修改的能力可以在项目的最终成本上节省数十万美元。正如 Giles 所说,“像素比灰尘更容易移动。”

更好的社区支持:有时候,项目仅仅因为被误解就充满争议——而且理由很充分。并不是每个人都是有视觉倾向,也不是每个人都能破解蓝图甚至 3D 模型的代码。为了获得社区的支持,VR 在这方面真的可以大放异彩。

特别是大型公共项目,可能会给害怕改变的社区成员敲响警钟。一家公司曾在英国最繁忙的滑铁卢车站为乘客提供 VR 眼镜,使他们能够事先一睹按计划进行翻新后车站终端的样貌。在 Dunedin, Fla 发生的另一起事件中,公众曾“坚决”反对更换两座铜锣桥的计划,但在居民们以 360 度的 VR 视角浸入式地观赏了完工后的项目后,这种反对情绪逐渐消退。

更具灵活性:通过使用光线追踪技术,VR 可以模拟来自太阳和其他光源的光线变化的效果,供设计师和客户查看。设计师可以根据结果做出相应的调整。

施工期间及施工后

减少错误:通过举起平板电脑或戴上一副眼镜来查看使用说明和材料,建筑工人们可以精确地看到钉子的位置,甚至可以知道要用什么类型的钉子。他们可以看到手头需要哪些材料以及需要多少。如果设计中有缺陷,他们也可以看到,并进行标记,以便检查和纠正(也许是实时进行)。人工智能很快就能做出这些决定。3D 打印机还可以在现场生产桁架或其他需要的材料。“技术是无穷无尽的,”Gile 说。

长久模型:当承包商可以使用在设计过程中创建的 AR 和 VR 模型时,重新装修、改造甚至销售住宅或商业建筑将变得容易得多。同样,向房地产经纪人提供 VR 模型意味着买家可以“在购买前试用”。

“像素比灰尘更容易移动。”

挑战还是机遇?

改变是困难的,反对者可以很快指出 VR 和 AI 在 AEC 行业全面采用时面临的障碍。包括 Silverdraft 的 Gile 在内的许多其他人,都看到了这些数字技术带来的令人兴奋的机遇。尽管有这些机遇,但仍有一些挑战需要考虑,包括技术的前期成本和技术变化的速度。

成本:众所周知,所有这些花哨的技术和驱动它的硬件的价格是相当高昂的。成本似乎高得让人望而却步,尤其是对家居设计等个别项目而言。但节省的时间、减少的错误以及执行更多日常任务的技术能力,可能弥补,甚至超过,在前端增加的开支。

跟上技术步伐:随着创新和改进以惊人的速度出现,对于如何利用新技术并及时将其提供给客户和顾客这一问题,至少可以说是很棘手。AEC 设计人员可以与 Silverdraft 等令人信任的企业合作,而不是试图成为“技术专家”。这种合作关系可以确保专业人员使用新工具,并为客户提供优良价值。而且,由于技术往往会随着每一次改进而变得更加高效,工作流程和成本也会得到改善。

速度至关重要

对于 VR 和 AI 来说,使用正确的硬件是提供高质量用户体验的关键。这些技术需要在尽可能短的时间内处理大量的数据——确切地说是以思维的速度。“你的大脑必须相信它,”Gile 说。“在这个虚拟环境中,你在欺骗你的大脑,让它相信一切是真实的。在这个虚拟世界中,任何抑制你欺骗大脑的东西都会破坏这种体验。你需要有一定的每秒帧数,所以速度至关重要。”

为了确保他们的超级计算机 Devil 服务器和 Demon 工作站达到真正的速度,Silverdraft 依赖于 Micron 美光内存。“GPU(可视化所需的图形处理器)的设计使它们在变暖时就会变慢,一般在大约 15 分钟之后,”Gile 说。“在 VR 中停留的大多数人都比这个时间更长。一旦系统开始自我冷却,速度变慢,帧数就会下降。” 虽然观众可能没有注意到帧数下降,但大脑会注意到,并可能导致晕动病。

Silverdraft 的系统不存在这个问题,部分原因得益于 Micron 美光的超快 GDDR6 图形内存、DRAM 内存和固态硬盘。“能够进入这些系统的绝对优良的组件发挥着至关重要的作用,”Gile 补充说。“为了获得更好的性能,我们需要最好的组件——尤其是围绕虚拟化方面。

“与 Micron 美光的合作令人难以置信,同样令人难以置信的还有他们使我们的建筑师能够做的事情,”Gile 说。“我认为它是先进的。”

+

Driving more intelligence at the edge

A Room with a View: VR brings Architecture Designs to Life

RATE THIS STORY:
Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable Rating Unavailable
VOTES SO FAR

Imagine walking around in a building being designed for you before construction has even begun: the vaulted ceilings, light streaming in through the generous windows, the spiral staircase, or, if it’s a commercial structure, the jostle and hum of customers crowding the aisles and assessing your merchandise.

But, you ask, will all this sunlight be too warm in the afternoon? North-facing windows might be best. Or the aisles in your store seem too crowded, so you ask to improve the flow. In a moment, the space around you morphs, accommodating your requests: a brick wall here, French doors there, smaller windows on this side of the house and an entire wall of them facing north, wider aisles.

Bye, bye, blueprints. Architecture is changing, thanks to digital technologies, and it will never be the same. No longer will customers need to squint at lines on a page and try to imagine the spaces they define. No more will change requests send architects back to the drawing board, racking up hours and driving up costs — because those changes can be made with a few clicks or even instantaneously, as soon as the customer asks, with no action required at all.

Virtual reality (VR) and its cousin augmented reality (AR) are already transforming not only the experience of having a residential, commercial or industrial building professionally designed, but also the act of designing itself. “We can use VR to explore a house or building before the first shovel of dirt gets turned,” says Amy Gile, CEO of Silverdraft Supercomputing. Her company’s Demon and Devil supercomputers drive new and emerging technologies, including VR, AR and artificial intelligence (AI) for industries such as architecture, engineering and construction (AEC).

A Matter of “When,” Not “If”

With 40 to 80 percent annual growth rates in VR and AR use expected in all sectors over the next 10 years, customers are going to demand these technologies, and AEC industries will have no choice but to provide them. But those in AEC stand to benefit immensely, too — by reducing errors and their concomitant cost; by creating a smoother, more coordinated workflow; and, in many cases, by relieving designers from the most tedious aspects of their professions. With technology doing the grunt work, designers can actually design.

Gile sees Building Information Modeling (BIM) software — which uses VR, AR, data analytics, the cloud, and soon artificial intelligence — as the next logical steps in the AEC timeline. “First it was paper and pencil. Then architects shifted to digital technology with AutoCAD and Revit for 3D design,” Gile says. “Each iteration makes it easier for the client to understand the vision that the architects, contractors and engineers are creating.” VR- and-AR-driven BIM software, she says, “is just another evolution of that tool to get everybody on the same page and collaborating.”

The Benefits of VR and AR

If you’ve star-gazed in distant galaxies or lounged on the beach under a virtual sun while the snow falls outside your door, you already know that VR is fun. If you’ve walked through the Parisian medieval palace La Conciergerie using a Holopad to view the feast hall now, overlaid with how it appeared in the 10th century, you know the educational benefits of AR. In AEC, these technologies offer the same benefits, plus many more, for industry professionals and customers alike.

But just how are AEC projects enhanced by VR and AR capabilities during the design process? These technologies provide benefits before, during and after construction.

Bye, bye, blueprints. Architecture is changing, thanks to digital technologies, and it will never be the same.

Before Construction

Winning proposals: For AEC, the benefits of VR begin before a prospect even becomes a client. Being able to literally walk interested parties through a proposed design by putting them in a pair of VR glasses can provide a distinct competitive advantage over those still using screens to show their ideas. And if prospects spot a problem, being able to resolve it right before their eyes can indicate a level of responsiveness that non-VR users cannot provide. For time-critical projects or those with other challenging aspects, using VR can mean the difference between clinching the deal and walking away empty-handed.

Streamlined workflow: Although satisfying to many professionals, drawing blueprints could take weeks and entail many revisions, slowing a project and driving up its price. VR- and AR-driven BIM software can cut the time from visualization to design to just a few hours — and produce a higher-quality rendering to delight the client.

More accurate analyses: Cost overruns and missed deadlines could become relics of the past as BIM software sorts, sifts, and analyzes all the data associated with a project for more accurate cost estimates and scheduling.

Enhanced collaboration: Using VR, architects, engineers, interior designers, contractors and clients can virtually inhabit the same space at the same time — before the space actually exists — to discuss materials, terrain, techniques, design and other aspects of a project. When the various parties on a project can work together regardless of their physical location, everyone wins, especially the client.

Silverdraft’s Gile used her company’s hardware and VR BIM software to design her house, and she found that the ability to make changes in the virtual environment preconstruction saved hundreds of thousands of dollars on the project’s ultimate cost. As Giles said, “Pixels are easier to move than dirt.”

Better community support: Sometimes, projects are controversial simply because they’re misunderstood — and with good reason. Not everyone is visually oriented or able to crack the code that blueprints or even 3D models present. For gaining community support, VR can really shine.

Large public projects, in particular, can sound alarm bells among community members fearing change. One firm offered passengers at Waterloo Station, the U.K.’s busiest train station, VR glasses to provide a sneak peek of station terminals after a planned renovation. In another incident in Dunedin, Fla., “adamant” public opposition to a plan to replace two causeway bridges faded after residents got an immersive, 360-degree VR view of the finished project as envisioned.

Greater flexibility: Using ray trace technology, which tracks the path of light through a scene, VR can mimic the effects of changing light from the sun and other sources for designers and clients to view. Based on the results, designers can adjust accordingly.

During and After Construction

Fewer mistakes: By holding up a tablet or donning a pair of glasses to view instructions and materials, builders can see precisely where the nails go and even what kind of nails to use. They can see which materials they need on hand and how much. If there’s a flaw in the design, they can see that, too, and tag it for review and correction, perhaps in real time. Soon, artificial intelligence could make these decisions instead. 3D printers onsite could produce trusses or other needed materials, as well. “The technology is endless,” Gile says.

A permanent model: Refurnishing, remodeling and even selling a home or commercial building will be much easier when contractors can use the AR and VR models created in the design process. Likewise, providing a VR model to realtors means that buyers can “try before they buy.”

“Pixels are easier to move than dirt.”
Amy Gile
CEO of Silverdraft Supercomputing

Challenges or Opportunities?

Change is hard, and naysayers can be quick to point out obstacles to VR and AI’s full adoption in the AEC industry. Many others, including Gile at Silverdraft, see exciting opportunities ahead as these digital technologies come into their own. Despite these opportunities, there are still a few challenges to consider, including the upfront costs of the technology and the speed with which it is changing.

Cost: The price tag for all this fancy technology and the hardware to drive it is the proverbial elephant in the room. Costs can seem prohibitively high, especially for individual projects such as home design. But the savings in time, reduction in errors and ability of technology to perform many more routine tasks may make up for —or even exceed — spending increases on the front end.

Keeping pace with technology: With innovations and improvements appearing at a breakneck pace, taking advantage of new technologies — and providing them to clients and customers in a timely fashion — can be tricky, to say the least. Instead of trying to be a “techspert,” AEC designers can partner with a trusted enterprise such as Silverdraft. Such partnerships ensure that professionals are working with the most current tools and offering the best value to customers. And since technologies tend to become more efficient with each refinement, workflows and costs could improve as well.

Speed Is of the Essence

For VR and AI, using the right hardware is key to providing a quality user experience. These technologies entail processing huge amounts of data in the shortest possible amount of time — literally at the speed of thought. “Your mind has to believe it,” Gile says. “In this virtual environment, you’re tricking your brain that it is real. Anything in this virtual world that inhibits tricking your brain ruins the experience. You need to have a certain number of frames per second, so speed is essential.”

To make sure their supercomputer Devil servers and Demon workstations are literally up to speed, Silverdraft relies on Micron memory. “GPUs (the graphics processors required for visuals) are designed to slow down as they get warm, generally after about 15 minutes,” Gile says. “Most people are in VR longer than that. Once the system starts to cool itself and slow things down, it starts dropping frames.” Although the viewer may not notice a dropped frame, the brain does, and motion sickness can result.

Silverdraft’s systems don’t have this problem, thanks in part to Micron’s superfast GDDR6 graphics memory, DRAM memory, and solid state drives she says. “The absolute best components that can go inside these systems are critical,” Gile added. “For the performance we get, we need the best — especially around virtualization.

“Collaborating with Micron and what they’ve enabled our architects to do, it’s incredible,” Gile says. “I think it’s number one.”

See this story and more come to life at Micron Insight 2019.          Learn more >

+