The Micron Foundation helps Boys & Girls Clubs of Idaho Recognize Local Youth

By Corporate Communication - 2011-03-02

Teens from Boys & Girls Clubs throughout Idaho compete annually for the honor of becoming the Idaho Boys & Girls Club Youth of the Year. The Idaho competition is made possible by the Micron Technology Foundation, who awards a $1,000 scholarship to the local winners and a $2,500 scholarship to the Idaho Youth of the Year for his/her outstanding contributions to a his/her local Boys & Girls Club, family, school and community, as well as their ability to overcome personal challenges and obstacles.

“We have been proud to support the Idaho Youth of the Year Program for the past eight years,” said Dee Mooney, Executive Director for the Micron Foundation. “The kids in the competition are so impressive and exemplify the finest character and leadership qualities. We are happy to contribute to their educational goals and hope they will continue to strive for excellence throughout their lives.”

The Micron Foundation congratulates the Idaho Youth of the Year Winner and Finalists:

  • Darnisha Victorain – Boys & Girls Clubs of Ada County (2011 Youth of the Year Winner)
  • Karla Rogers – Mountain Home Air Force Base Youth Center
  • Paige Frey – Boys & Girls Club of Kootenai County
  • Hayley Wright – Boys & Girls Clubs of Magic Valley
  • Janiece Valenzuela – Boys & Girls Club of Nampa
  • Tyrel Smolinski – Boys & Girls Clubs of the Lewis Clark Valley

Corporate Communication

Corporate Communication